Winning With a Rain Out in the Middle of the 5th


Howie from Oak Forest, IL asks:

If the score is tied after 4 1/2 innings and then the home team scores in the bottom of the 5th but they get rained out before the 5th inning is finished does the home team win the game?

Yes, the home team wins this game. A game is considered official after 5 complete innings have been finished or if the home team scores more runs than the visitors in four or four and a fraction innings at bat and the visiting team has had 5 innings at bat.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: MLB Rule 7.01(c)(2)

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus