Who's Out?


John Malone from Hawkins, TX asks:

Runners are were on 1st and 2nd when the shortstop juggles a line drive and drops it. He steps on second then tags the runner. The umpire calls both out. I don't think this is right because the force had been removed

In the scenerio above only the runner running from first to second is out. Like you mentioned, the force was removed once the fielder stepped on second so the runner on second was no longer forced. However, if the fielder tagged the runner at second first and then stepped on the base both would be out.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Runners

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus