Who Loses?


Karen from Left Field asks:

Does the loss (on a walkoff or otherwise) go to the pitcher that allowed the walkoff hit or the pitcher that was responsible for the runner on base that scored?

The pitcher who gets the loss is the pitcher who let the eventual winning run get on base. According to the 2012 rulebook "A losing pitcher is the pitcher who is responsible for the run that gives the winning team a lead that the winning team does not relinquish" 10.17(d). Since the pitcher who let the winning run get on base and would be resposible for the run when that runner scored he would get the loss.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Pitching

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus