When is the Ball Back in Play After a Foul Ball?


John asks:

Let's say there is a runner on first and the batter hits a foul ball. The umpire throws the ball back to the pitcher but he overthrows the pitcher. Can the runner run to second? When is the ball consider in play? If the catcher overthrows the pitcher is it the same rules?

The runner cannot run to second on this overthrow, whether from the catcher or the umpire. When the ball is foul, it is a dead ball and only comes back in play when the umpire calls "play".

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus