Walk Off Ground Rule Double For A Single


Don Malen from Avon, CT asks:

Bottom of the 9th with the game tied 0 to 0 and runners on 2nd and 3rd the batter hits a ground rule double. Does he get credit for a single or double and what is the final score?

The final score is 1-0 and the batter gets credit for a single. On a walk off hit that isn't a home run, the batter only gets credit for the number of bases it would take for the run to score, in this case one, so he gets a single instead of a ground rule double.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Batter, MLB Rule 10.06(f)(comment)

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus