Umpires Interference With the Infield In


Jim from Massachusetts asks:

What is the appropriate call and placement, if any, of the runners if the ball hits the umpire in position C (in the middle of the infield) with the middle infield drawn in and the umpire is behind the fielders? Does the ball remain live because it passed a fielder prior to hitting the umpire?

Since the ball passed an infielder other then the pitcher before hitting the umpire then there is no umpire's interference. The play stays live and it is treated as if nothing out of the ordinary happened.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: MLB Rule 5.06(c)(6)

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus