Umpire Interference


Tom from Chicago asks:

Is there a such call as umpire interference?

Yes. The first type of umpires interference occurs when a batted ball hits the umpire without first going through an infielder. When this happens the ball is dead and every runner and the batter get one base. The other instance of umpire interference is when a passed ball gets caught in any of the plate umpire's gear. If this happens all the runners advance one base.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Umpiring

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus