Tie Goes To The Runner?


Mike from California asks:

If a runner touches the bag at the same time the ball is caught on a force, is the runner safe?

This question displays the same scenerio as the incorrect statement that "the tie goes to the runner". This is incorrect. Rule 7.01 states "A runner acquires the right to an unoccupied base when he touches it before he is out". The important part of this rule is the word "before". This means that the runner needs to beat the ball to the base to be safe, not arrive at the same time. 

So all in all, tie does not go to the runner and if there is a tie at a base the runner is out.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Runners

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus