Tagging Up On a Foul Ball


Joe from Owensville, MO asks:

Why do runners insist on tagging up after a foul ball? It isn't required, is it?

Even though the ball is dead if it falls into foul territory without being caught, if the ball is caught in foul terrirtory it is treated just as if a fly ball was caught in fair territory. This means that not only can runners tag up and advance, but that they can also be put out if they vacate the base before the ball is caught and do not return in time.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: MLB Rule 5.09(b)(5)

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus