Tagging Up On a Dead Ball


Bill Fogarty from Wichita, Kansas asks:

Runner on first with less than two outs when the batter hits a line drive to the shortstop which is caught. He then throws the ball out of play while trying to make a play on the runner at first base. Where do you put the runner?

In this case the runner is awarded two bases, so he would be awarded third base. However, since the runner needs to retouch first base since the line drive was caught, he needs to ensure he still does that, even though the ball is dead, before advancing to second and then third. If he does not do this, when the ball is put back in play, the defense can appeal to first and the runner will be called out.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: MLB Rule 5.06(b)(4)(I) Comment

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus