Tagging The Third Out In The Basepath


Dondie Ergonis from Dearborn, MI asks:

With bases loaded and two outs a ground ball is hit to the pitcher who then tags the runner going from second to third. Does the runner on third score?

No, the runner does not score. A run cannot score on a play where the third out is made, along with many other scenerios, by a runner being forced out. Since the runner on second was forced to vacate his position on second by the runner from first it is considered a force out and the run does not score.


Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Runners

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus