Tagging the Runner From Third on a Double Play


Tom Wassin from Maryland asks:

With the bases loaded, the batter hits a ground ball. The runner from third is tagged out running home and then the ball is thrown to third. Does the runner from second to third have to be tagged or can the third baseman just touch third base for the double play?

Since tagging the runner from third does not remove the force on the bases since he is the lead runner, the third baseman can simply just step on third base and it will be a double play

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus