Tagging a Runner's Hair


Richard from Canada asks:

What happens when a player has extremely long hair (e.g. dreadlocks) and is a base runner? Does a tag on the hair constitute an out? And could long hair render a runner safe if the hair touched a bag before a tag was applied?

A player's hair is considered part of his body and can thus be tagged for an out. Also, although the scenerio is unlikely to occur, the runner's hair can render him safe if it touches the base before the ball taga him, as long as, unless he is the batter running to first, he stays on the base and is not tagged while off it.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus