Tagged Out on a Base


A Baseball Fan from The Baseball Field asks:

Bases loaded - none or one out. Ball is hit to the third baseman. the runner on third does not break for home. Can the third baseman touch the runner on the base to make him out, and then touch third for a double play? Is the runner on third protected on the base, or does he have to give it up because of the hit? Can you touch him while he is still on third and make him out, or do you have to throw home to make him out?

The runner is forced so he can be tagged (while on the base or not) and then the bag can be tagged for the double play as long as the fielder doesn't touch the base first.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus