Switching Batter's Boxes During an At Bat


Harry Art from Cincinnati, Ohio asks:

Can a batter change from the left batter's box to the right batter's box during an at bat?

Yes! The only restriction regarding this situation is that if the "pitcher is in position ready to pitch" when the batter switches boxes, then the batter is out for illegal action. Because of this, a batter can only switch boxes when the pitcher isn't on the mound and ready to pitch, or when "time" is out.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: MLB Rule 6.06(b)

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus