Switch Hitting


Terry from La Porte, IN asks:

How many times may a switch hitter change sides of the plate during his time at bat?

Once a batter takes his position with both feet in the batters box he is not allowed to switch sides without asking for time from the umpire first. If he switches from one batters box to the other when a pitcher is in a position ready to pitch the batter will be called out for illegal action.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Batter

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus