Stopping Before Throwing To A Base


Jerry Maset from Johnstown, PA asks:

Is there any time a pitcher must pause before throwing to a base? Balk called on left handed pitcher for not pausing before throwing to first.

When a pitcher is pitching from the set possition he must come to a complete stop before delivering the pitch or throwing the ball to a base. There is no specific time that the pitcher needs to pause but he does need to be completely stopped before making his next move of throwing to a base.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Pitching, MLB Rule: 8.01(b)

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus