Stealing First


A Baseball Fan from The Baseball Field asks:

On a past ball the batter advanced to 1st base on a now 2-2 count. Neither teams nor the umpires notice until after the next pitch is thrown. What is the call?

 If no one noticed, and no one appealed...the play would stand. I have on at least two occasions seen the batter walk away after a strike 2 count. If no one says anything, and another batter comes up and takes a pitch, it is too late for that previous batter.  I would be curious what the previous count was. Were there two strikes on the batter, and everyone thought that that pitch was an uncaught third strike? Anyway, nothing can be done after that next batter took a pitch.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus