Running On A Line Drive


Kin asks:

A line drive is hit to third with runners on 2nd and 3rd. The third baseman catches the line drive and the runner on third runs down base line. Do you have to tag the runner or just tag the bag?

In this scenerio since the runner did not retouch third after the line drive was caught it turns into a force situation and all the fielder needs to do is touch third base to retire the runner, therefore turning a double play.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Runners

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus