Runner Being Knocked Down Because Of A Tag


Tim from USA asks:

Our left handed batter hit a slow ground ball down the line. The pitcher fields the ball, and, while going to tag the runner, the pitcher knocks him over and injures the runner. After the collision the pitcher drops the ball, then picks it back up and throws out the runner while the runner is still on the ground injured. What is the call? Ruling on the field was obstruction and runner was award first base.

In this case since the fact that the pitcher knocked the runner down unintentionally there is no penalty and the runner is out on the force. Since this occured without the ball it is not obstruction, however, if the collision was malicious or obviously on purpose then the pitch can be ejected for unsportsmanlike conduct.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Batter

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus