Retouching Multiple Bases on a Fly Out


Chris Bordage from Moncton NB Canada asks:

A runner runs from 1st and both touches and passes 2nd after the batter hits a long fly ball. The fly ball is caught. Does the runner have to tag 2nd on his way back to 1st base?

Yes! The runner must return to and retouch all of the bases they touched in order of the base most recently touched. Because of this, they will have to retouch second base on their way to retouch first. 

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus