Retouching First on a Home Run


Jim from Cranston RI asks:

A home run is hit. The batter tags first base and continues to second, but he thinks he missed first so he returns to the bag to tag it again before he reaches second. Is this acceptable?

Yes! On a home run, a runner is allowed to go back and retouch a base before the touch the next base so, as long as the runner has not touched second yet, he can go back to touch first. 

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: MLB Rule 5.09(c)(2) Comment

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus