Restarting from Scratch


Dave Mangin from Fortuna, CA asks:

A batter asks for timeout but it is not granted by the umpire. He steps out of batters box and, in result, the pitcher stops his delivery. Is this a balk?

If there is no one on base when this situation occurs then there is no call and the pitcher is allowed to restart his wind up once the batter has returned to the batters box. If there were runners on then this would not be a balk since both the batter and the pitcher commited a violation. The umpire shall call time and the play will restart from the beginning.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Pitching

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus