Reaching Home When the Batter is Out at First


Luke Allen from Kingston, Canada asks:

There is a runner on third with two outs when the batter hits a ground ball and gets out at first, but not before runner at third makes it home. Does run count?

This run does not count. If a runner reaches home plate during a play where the batter-runner is put out before touching first, then the run does not count.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: MLB Rule 5.08(a) EXCEPTION

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus