Pitcher Throwing to an Unoccupied Base


LL from Winchester asks:

There is a runner on first leading off the base. Without the runner making any attempt to advance, the pitcher attempts a pick off to second base thinking there was a runner on second. Is that a balk?

Yes, this is a balk. Unless, in the umpire's judgement, the runner is attempting to advance to the unoccupied base in question, it is a balk if the pitcher throws to an unoccupied base

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: MLB Rule 6.02(a)(4)

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus