Pitcher Removing and Replacing the Ball in His Glove


Tom Baxter from Penfield, NY asks:

Once the pitcher takes the ball from his glove during his/her wind up, can he/she return the ball to the glove prior to delivering the pitch?

No. Once the pitcher starts his pitching motion he can not remove his hand or glove from the ball except in order to deliver the actual pitch or to throw to a base. If the pitcher does this with runners on base then it is a balk.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Pitching

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus