Pitch Stuck in Catchers Gear


DJ from Illinois asks:

A pitch is low and bounces from the dirt and lodges in the catcher's chest guard. What is the ruling?

If a pitch gets lodged into the catcher's, or umpire's for that matter, gear and stays there then it is an immediate deadball and every runner advances one base. If this pitch is ball four or a dropped third strike then it is a dead ball, each runner gets one base, and the batter is awarded first. If there is no runners on base and this is not strike three or ball four then it is just a dead ball and the pitch stands as called.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: MLB Rule 5.06(c)(7)

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus