Outside the Box


Eugene from New York asks:

Will an umpire call a ball or strike if the batter has 1 foot outside of the batters box

The answer to this question really depends on the league that this takes place in. In NCAA, once the batter takes his position in the batters box he is not allowed to exit it until his at bat is finished. In most other leagues the pitcher is not allowed to pitch until the batter has taken his stance in the batters box. If, after taking his position in the batters box, the batter steps out without calling time and the pitcher pitches the ball, the pitch should be called as if the batter is still in the batters box.

Something that goes along with this question is that if the batter hits a ball with one or both feet completely outside the batters box (he is okay if his foot is on the line) he will automatically be called out.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Batter

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus