Outfielder Forgetting the Number of Outs


Richard from Erie, PA asks:

There is a runner on 1st base with one out when a fly ball is hit to right field. After the catch, the right fielder tosses the ball into the stands thinking there are now 3 outs. Does the runner get 1 or 2 bases?

Anytime a thrown ball goes into the stands or bench, the runners are awarded two bases and the ball is immediately dead. In this case the runner from 1st would be awarded 3rd and there would now be two outs due to the retired batter.

It is important to remember in this situation that, even though this is a dead ball and the runner is awarded third, he still must retouch first to tag up due to the caught fly ball. The runner can do this while the ball is dead; but, if he fails to retouch first, once the ball is put back in play by the umpire the defense can appeal to first and retire the runner.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: MLB Rule 7.05(i) Comment

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus