Out of Play


Mike Kresovich from Centre County, PA asks:

Can a Defensive Player, step out of play, then establish himself back in play and make a catch?

Yes. There is no rule prohibiting a player from stepping out of play to then later step in play in order to make a catch. As long as this player was inbetween the two foul lines at the time of the pitch and had one or both feet on or over the playing field at the time of the catch the batter is out.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Catches

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus