Out For Not Tagging Up On A Foul Ball


Chuck Weaver from Florida High School asks:

If a base runner leads off then attempts to steal but the batter fouls off the pitch, is the base runner required to retag the bag after the ball is put back in play? I have had an umpire call the base runner out because he did not retag the bag before the next play.

This should never happen because the home plate umpire needs to wait until all the runners have returned to their bases before putting the ball back in play.

So in other words, yes, the runners do need to retouch the bag after a foul ball but the ball should not be put back in play until they do.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Runners, MLB Rule 5.09(e)

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus