Opposing Coach Distracting A Pitcher


William Bryant from Albuquerque, New Mexico asks:

When a picture is distracted (and stops) by the offense (base coach, bench personnel) is there penalty called against  the pitcher? IE is this an interference call or a balk call?

According to rule 4.06(a)(3), "No manager, player, substitute, coach, trainer, or batboy shall at any time, whetherfrom the bench, the coach's box or on the playing field, or elsewhere call "Time", or employ any other word or phrase or commit any act while the ball is alive and in play for the obvious purpose of trying to make the pitch commit a balk."

If this happens, the balk does not count and the offender(s) will be removed from the game.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Pitching, 4.06(a)(3)

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus