Not Avoiding A Hit By Pitch


Angie from Oregon High School asks:

When a batter gets hit by a pitch, does he have to attempt to avoid the pitch or does he still get a base if he doesn't avoid it?

 If a batter is hit by a pitch and he does not make any movement to get out of the way the ball is automatically dead and the pitch is a ball. However, the umpire needs to use common sense here with the player who got hit. Some of the younger kids are not fast enough or don't see the ball until it hits them sometimes.In these cases the umpire should usually allow the kid to take first base.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Batter

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus