Mound Visit for Visiting The Catcher?


Don C. from Massachusetts asks:

If a coach calls time out to talk to the catcher is that considered a mound visit?

If the coach goes out solely with the purpose to talk to the catcher or any of the infielders then this is not a mound visit. However, if  the coach talks to the catcher or an infielder and then that player immediately goes to talk to the pitcher before a pitch or play has occured then it will be considered a mound visit because of the fact that the team is trying to get away with a mound visit without the coach actually talking to the pitcher.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: MLB Rule 8.06 Comment

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus