Little League Pitcher's Pivot Foot


Rodd from Maine asks:

What is the Little League rule concerning the pitcher's foot remaining in contact with the pitching rubber during delivery?

Any time a pitcher makes a pitch that would usually be a balk in MLB, e.g. the pitcher's pivot foot not staying in contact with the pitching rubber, it is an illegal pitch. This means that, unless the batter hits the pitch, it is a ball. However, if I see this happening I will first warn the pitcher not to make sure his pivot foot stays in contact with the rubber because many Little League pitchers are just starting to learn how to pitch.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Pitching, LL Rule 8.01

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus