Line Drive Interference


Theresa from NC asks:

With two outs and a runner on second, the batter hits a line drive between 2nd and 3rd and the runner gets hit with the line drive. Who is out?

Assuming that the ball has not touched an infielder and that the ball did not go through or by an infielder and touched the runner immediately after, then the runner is out and it is the end of the inning.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: MLB Rule 5.09(f)

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus