Intentionally Throwing the Ball Out of Play


Skip Leuthke from Ohio asks:

Can a fielder intentionally throw a ball out of play to prevent a runner from advancing?

Although there is technically no rule saying that the fielder cannot intentionally throw the ball out of play, doing so would be unwise due to the fact that each runner, including the batter-runner, would be awarded two free bases.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: MLB Rule 5.06(b)(4)(G)

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus