Injured After a Catch in the Stands


Larry from Pennsylvania asks:

If a player catches a foul ball and then falls into the stands but is injured and unable to throw as the runner tags up, is there a limit to how many bases the runner can advance?

 Assuming that the fielder catches the ball and continues to hold on to the ball while falling into the stands, hence retiring the batter, then it is an immediate dead ball and the runner shall be awarded one base.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus