Ignoring the Ball on a Walk Off


David from California asks:

Bottom of 9th, score tied, man on third. Batter grounds the ball through the infield. As runner heads towards home, outfielders realize game is over and ignore the ball, which rolls to the fence with batter scoring, as losing team trudges to dugout. Is batter credited with a home run or a single?

The batter is credited with a single due to the fact that a batter is credited as many bases as the winning run moved to score. So, since the runner from third moved one base to score, the batter is awarded a single.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: MLB Rule 9.06(f)

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus