How Many Foul Balls Until a Strike Out?


Dan from Michigan Yooper asks:

How many pitches does it take to strike out a batter if the batter keeps fouling the pitch?

A batter is allowed to continuously foul off pitches and there is no limit to the number they can foul off. The only time this changes is if a batter bunts a ball foul with two strikes, which means that then the batter is out. This bunting foul rule is in place to prevent batters from continuously bunting balls foul to drive up a pitcher's pitch count.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus