Home to Third Double Play


John Fitzpatrick from California asks:

Bases are loaded, less than two outs. Ball is hit to the shortstop and he throws home for the force out. The catcher then throws to third base. Is this a force out or a tag play?

This is a force out at third. With the bases loaded, there is a force play at every base and this does not get removed with the out at home because the runner going to third is still forced by the runner going to second, who in turn is forced by the batter-runner going to first.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus