Hitting A Bouncing Ball


Nanci Ashback from Wilmington,Delaware asks:

When a pitcher throws the ball and it hits the plate and bounces up and the batter hits it, isn't that considered a dead ball?

No, a batter is allowed to hit a pitch that bounces, no matter where the ball bounces. If the batter does hit a bouncing ball, it shall be treated as if he hit the ball while it was in flight.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Hits, MLB Rule 2.00 BALL

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus