Ground Rule Double Off A Base


Lance Salmi from Saugerties, NY asks:

There are runners on second and third when a batted ball hits third base and goes out of play. Where do runners and batter end up?

This batted ball counts as a ground rule double. The definition of a ground rule double is "a fair ball [that] bounces or is deflected into the stands" which means that, since this fits that criteria, this is a ground rule double.

Both runners score and the batter who hit the ground rule double is awarded second.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Batter, MLB Rule 7.05(f)

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus