Going From Foul to Fair Territory


Dee from Connecticut asks:

The ball hits the ground in foul territory, bounces, hits first base, and continues in fair territory. Is that a foul or fair ball?

Assuming that the ball was not touched by any player or foreign object in foul territory, then this is a fair ball as soon as it hits the base. A ball is only called foul before it passes first or third if it is touched by a player, umpire, or foreign object in foul territory or if it settles in foul territory.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: MLB Definitions of Terms: FOUL BALL

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus