Getting Off The Base And Out Of The Way On A Popup


Cabby from Plymouth, MA asks:

Runner on 1st base and there is a pop fly hit in foul territory next to 1st base, does the runner have to get out of the way for the fielder trying to catch the ball?

No, the runner does not need to leave his base in order to allow the fielder to make the play. However, if the runner intentionally interferes with a fielder trying to make a play while the runner is on a base then: with less then two outs the runner and the batter will be called out, or, with two outs, the batter will be called out.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Runners, MLB Rule 7.08(b) comment

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus