Getting Hit in the Hands While Swinging


Roy Sanders from Sacramento, CA asks:

The batter swings, the pitched ball hits his hands, and the ball goes into fair territory. What do I do? Do I let it play or kill the play and give him 1st base?

First off, to clarify, the batter's hands are not part of the bat. Because of this, this is treated as a normal hit by pitch where the batter swung. The ball is immediately dead and, since the batter swung on a pitch that hit him, it is ruled a strike.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus