Fumbled Foul Fly Ball Lands Fair


Jack from Toronto asks:

A fly ball is hit in the infield and the 1st baseman, standing in foul territory, attempts to catch the ball but it bounces out of his glove and the ball lands in fair territory. Why did the umpire call this a foul ball?

This is a foul ball since the ball was over foul territory when it was touched. It does not matter that the ball ended up landing in fair territory after it was fumbled since the ball was considered a foul ball as soon as the  fielder touched it with it over foul territory.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: MLB Rule 2.00 FOUL BALL

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus