Force While Tagging on a Fly Ball?


Cameron from KY asks:

Bases loaded, pop fly to the outfield. Runner at 2nd tags up but the 3rd base runner does not. Is it now a force play or a tag out at second?

There is no force on this play. Since the batter was retired, there is no more force play and all runners can advance at their own risk with only the fear of being tagged out. Because of this, if the runner from 2nd was to return to 2nd, he would have to be tagged out to be retired.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Runners

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus