Force Out Preventing an Error


Marcus Mills from Smyrna, GA asks:

Right fielder drops a fly ball but still forces out the runner that was on first base as they run to second. Is this an error?

This is not an error since, although he dropped the fly ball, he was still able to force out the runner going to second base. A fielder is able to prevent being assigned an error after they fumble or drop a ball if they are able to recover in time to force out a runner at any base.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: MLB Rule 10.12(d)(4)

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus