Fly Ball Moving a Runner From Second to Third


Mike from New Hampshire asks:

Is a fly ball that advances a runner from 2nd to 3rd considered a sacrifice fly? Is the batter charged an at bat in this scenario?

This is not a sacrifice fly since a sacrifice fly must score a run, not just move a runner over. Because of this, this is just a typical fly out, which counts as an at bat, and the runner advanced due to a fly out, not sacrifice fly.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus